Monday, 24 March 2014

Jane Ira Bloom, Part Two, her first album from 1980 called "Second Wind"

A more straightforward acoustic jazz album, compared to the preceding entry.  For ex., the second track "Ten Years after the rainbow" really is just a re-interpretation of "Somewhere over the Rainbow," the tired old Judy Garland classic, so overdone in jazz history, time and time again.  Boy do I hate those standards now, like Gershwin's Summertime, or "My Funny Valentine" which even Radka Toneff felt compelled to include on an album.  It amazes me that the average individual doesn't mind hearing the same old songs over and over again with apparently no predilection for novelty whatsoever, an impulse that so drives us forward here.  
Overall, some nice moments, an album in the traditional American acoustic jazz style though.  Check the preceding post plus one for biographical information on the subject of this artist.

Alto Saxophone – Jane Ira Bloom (tracks: A3, B3)
Double Bass – Kent McLagan
Drums – Frank Bennett (tracks: A1 to A3)
Piano – Larry Karush (tracks: A1, A2, B3)
Soprano Saxophone – Jane Ira Bloom (tracks: A1, A2, B1, B2)
Vibraphone – David Friedman (tracks: B1, B2)

Recorded June 1980 at the Educational Center for the Arts in New Haven, Connecticut.


  1. This comment has been removed by the author.

  2. This is great,like the Sideline too, great stuff from homeland ;) many thanks Julian !!!

  3. Yes, of course, being the birthplace of jazz and fusion, the United States were the masters of the style!

  4. Hi Julian, this one is also dead, thanks again

  5. new wav upload here:

  6. fantastic, wav as well, thanks. lossless suites me better for burning a disc and sticking it in my cd player

  7. I appreciate the WAV upgrade too. Thanks, Julian!